Taj Mahal

A tear on the cheek of time

When 1631 Mumtaz Mahal, the main wife and love of the Shah Jahan, died while she was giving birth to her 14th child, the Shah ordered to built a magnificent mausoleum to her honour.
The 58 m high and 56 m wide Taj Mahal was built on the southern bank of the Yamuna River on the outskirts of Agra, made out of fired bricks and completely covered with white marble. 
The four minarets arranged around the main building are leanining slightly away from the building so that they do not fall on the main building in case of an earthquake. A walled garden of 18 hectares extends to the south. To the west, the Taj Mahal is flanked by a mosque and symmetrically to the east by a guest house.
Access to the complex is through a large gate building in the south.
In the architecture of the entire complex, Persian architecture merged with Indian elements to create an outstanding work of art, which is considered by many to be the most beautiful building in the world.

Legend says that Shah Jahan had planned to have an identical mausoleum built for himself on the other side of the Yamuna River and covered with black marble. There is much that speaks for this thesis, such as the asymmetrical garden around the Taj Mahal, which would have regained its symmetry through an identical construction on the north side of the river and thus corresponded to the Persian ideal.

But before he could carry out his plan, the Shah was overthrown by his own son and had to spend the rest of his life as a prisoner in the Red Fort of Agra. After his death, he was buried next to his wife in the Taj Mahal, destroying the perfect symmetry of the interior - further evidence that the Shah originally had other plans for his own burial place.

The Taj Mahal was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List in 1983.

Today, the Taj Mahal is not only a tourist magnet, but - as a symbol of eternal love - is also a favourite destination for newlyweds on their honeymoon.

The poet Rabindranath Tagore once described the Taj Mahal in one of his poems as "a tear on the cheek of time".

Comments

No comments

* These fields are required

Share

Taj Mahal

Die Träne auf der Wange der Zeit

Als 1631 Mumtaz Mahal, die Hauptfrau und große Liebe des Shah Jahan, bei der Geburt ihres 14. Kindes im Kindsbett verstarb, lies der Shah ihr zu Ehren ein prächtiges Mausoleum errichten.

Das 58 m hohe und 56 m breite Taj Mahal wurde am Südufer des Flusses Yamuna am Stadtrand von Agra aus gebrannten Ziegelsteinen errichtet und vollständig mit weißem Marmor verkleidet. Die vier um das Hauptgebäude herum angeordneten Minarette sind leicht vom Gebäude wegweisend geneigt, damit sie bei einem Erdbeben nicht auf das Hauptgebäude stürzen.
Eine 18 Hektar große ummauerte Gartenanlage erstreckt sich in südlicher Richtung. Im Westen wird das Taj Mahal von einer Moschee und symetrisch im Osten von einem Gästehaus flankiert.
Der Zugang zur Anlage erfolgt durch ein großes Torgebäude im Süden.
In der Architektur der gesamten Anlage verschmolz persische Baukunst mit indischen Elementen zu einem herausragenden Werk, das von vielen als das schönste Gebäude der Welt angesehen wird.

Der Legende nach hatte Shah Jahan geplant auf der anderen Seite des Flusses Yamuna für sich selber ein identisches Mausoleum errichten und mit schwarzem Marmor verkleiden zu lassen. Vieles spricht für diese These, wie z.B. die asymentrische Gartenanlage um das Taj Mahal, die durch eine identische Anlage auf der Nordseite des Flusses ihre Symmetrie wieder erlangt und somit dem persischen Ideal entsprochen hätte.
Doch bevor er seinen Plan verwirklichen konnte, wurde der Shah von seinem eigenen Sohn gestürzt und musste den Rest seines Lebens als Gefangener im Roten Fort von Agra verbringen. Nach seinem Tod wurde er neben seiner Frau im Taj Mahal bestattet, was die perfekte Symmetrie des Innenraumes zerstört - ein weiterer Beleg dafür, dass der Shah ursprünglich andere Pläne für seine eigene Grabstätte hatte.

Das Taj Mahal wurde 1983 in die Liste des UNESCO-Weltkulturerbes aufgenommen.

Heute ist das Taj Mahal nicht nur ein Touristenmagnet, sondern wird - als Symbol unsterblicher Liebe - besonders gerne auch von frisch vermählten indischen Eheleute in ihren Fliterwochen besucht.

Der Dichter Rabindranath Tagore beschrieb einst in einem seiner Gedichte das Taj Mahal als „eine Träne auf der Wange der Zeit“.

Kommentare

Keine Kommentare

* Diese Felder sind erforderlich

Share