Türkei

Articles from this Tag

Sunrise on the Mountain of the Gods

The next morning, of course, I didn’t miss the sunrise on the east side of the Nemrut Dağı. On the east and west sides of the mountain, a row of large statues of gods were erected on a terrace, but they were severely damaged by earthquakes and storms in the meantime, so that the heads […]

Read more

Sunset on Mount Nemrut Dağı

Sunset on the 2150 meter high mountain Nemrut Dağı, which lies in the southeast of Turkey. On its peak, King Antiochos I (69-36 B.C.) erected a sanctuary and probably his own tomb. The alleged tomb consists of a gravel pile from fist large stones with a height of 45 meters and 150 meters of diameter […]

Read more

Göbekli Tepe – the oldest cult site of mankind

15km northeast of Şanlıurfa in eastern Turkey lies the prehistoric cult site Göbekli Tepe. With an age of approx. 11,500 years it is at present the oldest cult place of mankind found so far. In a time in which there were not even larger settlements and the people still lived as hunters and collectors, a […]

Read more
Go top

Türkei

Articles from this Tag

Sonnenaufgang auf dem Berg der Götter

Am nächsten Morgen lasse ich es mir natürlich nicht nehmen, auch noch den Sonnenaufgang auf der Ostseite des Nemrut Dağı mitzuerleben. Jeweils auf der Ost- und Westseite wurde auf einer Terrasse eine Reihe großer Götterstatuen errichtet, die inzwischen jedoch durch Erdbeben und Unwetter stark beschädigt wurden, so dass die Köpfe nun verstreut auf dem Boden […]

Read more

Sonnenuntergang auf dem Berg Nemrut Dağı

Sonnenuntergang auf dem 2150 Meter hohen Berg Nemrut Dağı, der im Südosten der Türkei liegt. Auf seinem Gipfel wurde vom König Antiochos I. (69–36 v. Chr.) ein Heiligtum und vermutlich auch seine eigene Grabstätte errichtet. Das vermeintliche Grabmal besteht aus einer Geröllaufschüttung aus Faust großen Steinen mit einer Höhe von 45 Metern und 150 Metern […]

Read more

Göbekli Tepe – die älteste Kultstätte der Menschheit

15km nordöstlich von Şanlıurfa im Osten der Türkei liegt die prähistorische Kultstätte Göbekli Tepe. Mit einem Alter von ca. 11.500 Jahren ist sie derzeit die älteste bisher gefundene Kultstätte der Menschheit. In einer Zeit in der es noch nicht einmal größere Siedlungen gab und die Menschen noch als Jäger und Sammler lebten, wurde hier eine Kultstätte errichtet, […]

Read more
Go top